Skip To Content

UNESCO/ICDE Chair Rory McGreal

Chairs and Partners

UNESCO and other Chairs in OER

Athabasca University, Canada (2010): Prof. Rory McGreal, Chair in OER

Otago Polytechnic, New Zealand (2013): Dr. Wayne Mackintosh, Chair in OER

Universidad Internacional de La Rioja, Spain (2013): Dr. Daniel Burgos, Chair on E-Learning

Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain (2013): Prof. Carlos Delgado Kloos, Chair on Scalable Digital Education for All

Jozef Stefan Institute Slovenia (2014): Dr. Mitja Jermol, Chair in Open Technologies for OER and Open Learning

Universidade de Brasilia, Brazil (2014): Dr. Tel Amiel, Chair in Open Education

Open University of the Netherlands (2016): Dr. Marco Kalz, Chair in Open Education

Fontys University of Applied Sciences, Netherlands (2016): Dr. Robert Schuwer, Chair in OER and their Adoption by Teachers, Learners and Institutions

Université de Sousse, Tunisia (2016): Dr. Sana Harbi, Chair in OER

Université de Nantes, France (2016): Prof. Colin de la Higuera, Chair in Technologies for the Training of Teachers

Tecnológico de Monterrey, México (2016): Dr. Maria Soledad Ramirez Montoya, Chair Open Educational Movement for Latin America

North-West University, South Africa (2018): Dr. Jako Olivier, Chair in Multimodal Learning and Open Educational Resources

University of Cape Town (2019): Dr. Cheryl Hodgkinson-Williams, Chair in Open Education and Social Justice

Commonwealth of Learning Chairs

Open University of Tanzania: Prof. Tolly Mbwette

Otago Polytechnic, New Zealand: Dr. Robin Day

UNISA: Prof. Mpine Makoe [email:]

ICDE Chairs

Prof. Martin Weller, Open University, UK

Prof. Tolly Mbwette, Pan-African University Council, Tanzania

Dr. Christian M. Stracke, Open University of the Netherlands

Dr. Jane-Frances Obiageli Agbu, National Open University of Nigeria

Dr.Maria Soledad Ramirez Montoya, Tecnológico de Monterrey, México*

Prof. Rory McGreal, Athabasca University, Canada*

Dr. Wayne Mackintosh, OER Foundation and Otago Polytechnic*

Dr. Daniel Burgos, Universidad Internacional de la Rioja (UNIR), Spain*

Other Collaborating Organizations

  • African Virtual University
  • Association of African Universities
  • Brazilian Association for Distance Education (ABED)
  • Commonwealth of Learning (COL)
  • European Association of Distance Teaching Universities (EADTU)
  • Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME)
  • International Association of Universities
  • Open Education Consortium
  • Open Education Resource Foundation, New Zealand
  • SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)
  • UNESCO Canada
  • International Council for Open and Distance Education (ICDE)



  • Alberta Advanced Education and Technology
  • Canadian Commission for UNESCO
  • TEKRI, Athabasca University